top of page

The Best Pixar Quotes [Updated]

This article was originally posted in 2017 and has been updated to include The Good Dinosaur, Coco and The Incredibles 2!

Allow yourself to revisit some of Pixar's best movies by reading through a compilation of my favourite Pixar quotes going all the way back to Toy Story. These may be ones that I quote all the time to my friends or family or simply ones that I find touching, hilarious or inspiring.

Toy Story (1995)

A classic Pixar clever-joke-for-the-adults-in-a-kids-movie line:

"The word I'm searching for- I can't say, because there's preschool toys present"

One of Tom Hanks' most iconic moments:

"YOU - ARE - A - TOY!"

Tim Allen's perfect line delivery:

"You are a sad, strange little man, and you have my pity"

The start of Buzz and Woody's friendship:

"This isn't flying, this is falling with style!"

One of the most well-known and iconic lines in Pixar history:

"To infinity and beyond!"

Just fun to quote:

"The Clawwww"

A Bug's Life (1998)

A powerful message (rewatching this scene now makes you realise how clever and relevant this point is):

"You let one ant stand up to us, then they all might stand up! Those puny little ants outnumber us a hundred to one and if they ever figure that out there goes our way of life!"

Makes me chuckle every time:

"No, Harry, no! Don't look at the light!

I can't help it! It's so beautiful!"

Toy Story 2 (1999)

An ingenious and hilarious Empire Strikes Back parody:

"I'll never give in. You killed my father!

No, Buzz. I *am* your father!"

A funny quote to use at school:

"Use your head!

But I don't want to use my heaaaaad!"

Another iconic Pixar line:

"Ride like the wind, Bullseye!"

It's so much fun imitating those cute little aliens:

"You have saved our lives. We are eternally grateful"

The line that gave birth to a meme:

"In just a few hours you'll be sitting around a campfire with Andy making delicious hot shmoes.

They're called S'mores, Buzz"

Just one of many brilliantly ingenious 'bloopers' in the credits:

"Is everybody gone? Huh? Good! Oh my God, my cheeks are killing me- I can't keep smiling like this!"

Monsters Inc (2001)

A perfect ending:

" Boo?

Kitty!"

Who doesn't love quoting Roz (fun fact: she was voiced by the same guy (yes, a guy!) who voiced Dug from Up):

"Wazowski! You didn't file your paperwork last night!"

Highly quotable in life generally:

"I'm watching you, Wazowski. Always watching. Always..."

A delightfully imaginative joke:

"Twenty-three nineteen! We have a twenty-three nineteen!"

The most heart-breaking line in the film:

"Kitty has to go"

This line makes me laugh every time I watch this scene:

"I tried to get away from it, but he picked me up with his mind powers and shook me like a doll"

Finding Nemo (2003)

Ellen is perfect as Dory:

"I shall call him Squishy and he shall be mine and he shall be my Squishy"

Did I mention that Ellen is perfect as Dory?

"Just keep swimming"

If someone's annoying you, follow Dory's lead:

"You got a problem buddy? Do ya? Do ya? Do ya?"

Such a clever joke when you look back on it, but a quotable line even when I was younger:

"I am a nice shark, not a mindless eating machine. If I am to change this image, I must first change myself. Fish are friends, not food"

I find this line absolutely hilarious (find it at the end of the credits) and love quoting it when I don't know what to do next:

"Now what?"

A clever play on the sound that seagulls make and a guaranteed way of annoying your friends by mercilessly repeating it:

"Mine! Mine! Mine!"

Who didn't have this address stuck in their head after watching the film?

"P. Sherman, 42 Wallaby Way, Sydney"

Even Captain America: Civil War takes inspiration from Marlin (a similar joke is spoken by Ant-Man):

"Yes, I'm your conscience. We haven't spoken for a while. How are you?"

Love the way she says 'es-ca-pay':

"Hey look here, "es-ca-pay". It's funny, it's spelled just like the word escape..."

An amusing joke in the film that also highlights the psychological effects of being stuck in a fish tank:

"Sharkbait! HOO HA HA!"

Another fun one to impersonate:

"Bubbles! Bubbles! My bubbles"

A powerful message and the core to an emotional father-son relationship:

"You think you can do these things, but you just can't, Nemo"

The Incredibles (2004)

This legendary exchange that I may or may not know word for word:

"Honey?

What?

Where's my super suit?

What?

Where - is - my - super - suit?

I, uh, put it away

Where?

Why do you need to know?

I need it!

Uh-uh! Don't you think about running off doing no daring-do. We've been planning this dinner for two months!

The public is in danger!

My evening's in danger!

You tell me where my suit is, woman! We are talking about the greater good!

'Greater good?' I am your wife! I'm the greatest good you are ever gonna get!"

The first of many awesome Edna quotes (fun fact: she was voiced by the director, Brad Bird):

"I never look back, darling! It distracts from the now"

My favourite joke in the film:

"Metaman, express elevator! Dynaguy, snagged on takeoff! Splashdown, sucked into a vortex! No capes!"

Another ingenious play on superhero movie cliches:

"You sly dog! You got me monologuing"

After doing an exam:

"We're dead! We're dead! We survived but we're dead!"

A really interesting exploration of the films theme of mediocrity and ambition:

"Everyone can be super! And when everyone's super...no one will be"

Again, expands on the themes in the previous quote:

"Everyone's special, Dash

Which is another way of saying no one is"

I love how relatable the family are, despite the fact that they are super heroes:

"Are we there yet?

We get there when we get there!"

This kid comes close to stealing the show:

"That was totally wicked!"

Samuel L Jackson as Frozone is effortlessly cool, if you'll excuse the terrible pun, in this scene:

"Freeze!

I'm thirsty.

I said freeze!

I'm just getting a drink.

...Okay, you had your drink. Now, I want you to...

I know, I know. Freeze"

I use this quote (and GIF all the time):

"Coincidence? I think not!"

Once again, this quote deals with the issue of mediocrity within society:

"People keep coming up with new ways to celebrate mediocrity..."

Inconceivable!:

"I'm not happy, Bob. Not happy."

Points for being a fun dad, though maybe not a responsible one:

"They caught you on tape and you still got away with it?"

Ratatouille (2007)

A bit of a long one here, but a truly inspiring and well written monologue, commenting on criticism and new talent:

"In many ways, the work of a critic is easy. We risk very little, yet enjoy a position over those who offer up their work and their selves to our judgment. We thrive on negative criticism, which is fun to write and to read. But the bitter truth we critics must face, is that in the grand scheme of things, the average piece of junk is probably more meaningful than our criticism designating it so. But there are times when a critic truly risks something, and that is in the discovery and defense of the new. The world is often unkind to new talent, new creations. The new needs friends. Last night, I experienced something new: an extraordinary meal from a singularly unexpected source. To say that both the meal and its maker have challenged my preconceptions about fine cooking is a gross understatement. They have rocked me to my core. In the past, I have made no secret of my disdain for Chef Gusteau's famous motto, "Anyone can cook." But I realize, only now do I truly understand what he meant. Not everyone can become a great artist; but a great artist can come from anywhere. It is difficult to imagine more humble origins than those of the genius now cooking at Gusteau's, who is, in this critic's opinion, nothing less than the finest chef in France. I will be returning to Gusteau's soon, hungry for more."

Another inspiring quote that doesn't just apply to chefs:

"What I say is true- anyone can cook...but only the fearless can be great"

A great line from a great villain:

"I'd like some fresh, clear, well seasoned perspective. Can you suggest a good wine to go with that?"

Pretty much sums up the main message of the film:

"Not everyone can become a great artist, but a great artist can come from anywhere"

Wall-E (2008)

Wall-E is just the cutest:

"Eeeee...va?"

An inspirational change of heart from the captain:

"I don't want to survive. I want to live."

A lovely scene where the captain learns all about the amazing parts of humanity:

"Computer, define 'dancing'."

An important message about humanity's outlook on life:

"Rather than try and fix this problem, it'll just be easier for everyone to remain in space.

Up (2009)

Dug's dark joke about squirrels:

"Hey, I know a joke! A squirrel walks up to a tree and says, "I forgot to store acorns for the winter and now I am dead." Ha! It is funny because the squirrel gets dead."

Dug is one of my favourite animated characters-he's just so adorable:

"I was hiding under your porch because I love you. Can I come in?"

A really poignant line in the movie that calls back to the moving opening montage depicting Carl and Ellie's everyday life:

"That might sound boring, but I think the boring stuff is the stuff I remember the most."

Just. So. Adorable.

"My name is Dug. I have just met you, and I love you."

I love this recurring joke revolving around the dogs' obsession with squirrels:

"Squirrel!"

Sums up the movies theme of adventure- Carl thinks that adventure is out there in Paradise Falls but his real adventure was with Ellie:

"Adventure is out there!"

An endearing joke that sets up Carl and Ellie's dream to go to Paradise Falls:

"South America! Its like America, but south"

A meaningful and heart warming ending:

"Russel, assisting the elderly and for performing above and beyond the call of duty, I would like to award you with the highest honour I can bestow- the Ellie Badge"

Toy Story 3 (2010)

A touching ending:

"So long...partner"

Use this quote to sound clever but secretly know that you got it from Barbie:

"Authority should derive from the consent of the governed, not from the threat of force!"

A nostalgic call back to the first Toy Story, which had the same line:

"I brought my attack dog with a built-in force field.

Well, I brought my dinosaur who eats force field dogs"

Its almost ridiculous when you think about it:

"Sunnyside is a place of ruin and despair, ruled by an evil bear who smells of strawberries."

Brave (2012)

A great line exploring destiny:

"Our fate lives within us, you only have to be brave enough to see it."

Merida is a strong independent princess who don't need no man:

"And I'LL be shooting FOR MY OWN HAND!"

So. Much. Fun. To. Impersonate.

"Mum! It's just my boooooow!"

Inside Out (2015)

I'm definitely not sobbing into my pillow:

"Take her to the moon for me. Okay?"

Lewis Black is spot on as Anger:

"Congratulations San Francisco, you've ruined pizza! First the Hawaiians, and now YOU!"

Just one of MANY ingenious jokes:

"All these facts and opinions look the same. I can't tell them apart"

These aren't tears. No, it's just raining...indoors:

"I... I know you don't want me to, but... I miss home. I miss Minnesota. You need me to be happy, but I want my old friends, and my hockey team. I wanna go home. Please don't be mad."

The sequel begging to happen:

"What's "poo-ber-tee"?"

A hilarious look into Riley's parents' minds:

"The Foot is down. The Foot is down"

Just think about this quote after a bad day:

"All right! We did not die today, I call that an unqualified success"

Ironically, Sadness is funnier than Joy:

"Remember the funny movie where the dog died?"

A quote that may be too relatable:

"Crying helps me slow down and obsess over the weight of life's problems"

I love that dreams are treated as TV shows, with Fear being the critical viewer:

"Boo! Pick a plot line"

Another hilarious recurring joke that explains why you get songs stuck in your head:

"TripleDent Gum will make you smile..."

The Good Dinosaur (2015)

An apt summary of the movie:

"Sometimes you gotta get through your fear to see the beauty on the other side"

I guess I'm very, very, very alive then:

"If you ain't scared, you ain't alive"

Finding Dory (2016)

A similar joke to 'mine' from Finding Nemo, and possible the funniest part of Finding Dory:

"Off! Off! Off!"

Anakin Skywalker is screaming 'NOOOO' somewhere across the universe:

"I like sand. Sand is squishy"

Coco (2017)

Used both to highlight Ernesto de la Cruz's vanity and the eternal love between a father and daughter, ingenious song writing:

"Remember me, though I have to say goodbye. Remember me, don't let it make you cry"

Even death doesn't stop allergies:

"I am terribly allergic

But Dante doesn't have any hair.

And I don't have a nose, and yet, here we are"

Along with 'Remember Me', this is a beautiful summary of the themes in the film:

"Our memories, they have to be passed down by those who knew us in life- in the stories they tell about us"

The Incredibles 2 (2018)

Parents across the world feel recognised and validated:

"I don't know that way, why would they change math? Math is math, math is math!"

Krushaur literally has one job, but he does it well goddamnit:

"What you want un-crush for? ... What if I tell you to un-punch someone, what you do then?"

Sleep deprived Mr Incredible is a mood:

"I haven't been sleeping. I broke my daughter. They keep changing math. We needed AA batteries, but I got AAAs, and now we still need AA batteries. Put onered thing in the load of whites, now everything's...pink. And I think we need eggs"

 

Thanks for reading this article; if there were any quotes that I missed out, feel free to comment below! Also, if you want to read more about Pixar, check out my top 5 Pixar movies article

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page