top of page

Mid-Year Favourites: Across the Spider-Verse, Succession & More

Updated: Nov 27, 2023


It's halfway through 2023 and it's already been such a fantastic year for entertainment. Here are some of my favourite movies, shows, games and books split by 2023 releases and everything else I am catching up on from previous years!

 

Movies and Shows

Abbot Elementary [TV Show, Disney+]

Abbot Elementary is a breezy, heartfelt, funny sitcom centering around the teachers at a grade school in the US. It's particularly notable for its majority African American cast and its warm balance of heart and humour. I enjoyed watching this one on my lunchbreaks, a great comfort watch.


Daisy Jones & The Six [TV Show, Amazon Prime]

Based on the popular book by Taylor Jenkins Reid, Daisy Jones & The Six follows a fictional '70s rock band during their explosive rise in popularity. Though the show gets off to a slow start, the final couple of episodes of the season are great. If anything, it's worth watching for 'The River' and 'Honeycomb', two fantastic original songs that I have had on repeat since watching the show.


John Wick: Chapter 4 [Movie]

hn Wick: Chapter 4 is a landmark action movie, one that I expect will pop up in conversations alongside Mad Max: Fury Road, Mission Impossible: Fallout and The Raid 2 as modern action masterpieces. It's a gorgeous, neon-drenched movie with a slick soundtrack and madcap, high-octane action sequences, including a relentless third act that is one of the best I have ever seen.


The Last of Us [TV Show, HBO]

The Last of Us was undoubtedly my most anticipated TV show of all time. Its almost cliché to say that the 2013 game on which it's based is my favourite ever video game, but it's true. The story of a grizzled survivor taking his surrogate daughter across the country to find a cure for mankind is just such a powerful one, and the bond between Joel and Ellie is close to my heart. The HBO adaptation is made with so much love and admiration for the game, staying true to its best qualities and fleshing out its themes with thoughtful additions. I hope Pedro Pascal and Bella Ramsey are recognised for their powerhouse performances because they're incredible.


Read more of my thoughts about The Last of Us here.


Lockwood & Co. [TV Show, Netflix]

RIP Lockwood & Co, lost to Netflix's irritating habit of cancelling interesting sci-fi and fantasy shows too soon. It's based around a ghost agency in an alternate version of London where spirits linger and plague the world. Despite its unfortunate cancellation, the first season is still worth a watch for its blend between ghostly adventure, fascinating world and likable characters.


The Legend of Vox Machina [TV Show, Amazon Prime]

I only discovered this show upon release of its second season this year, but I could devour five more seasons of this adult fantasy-adventure show. Luckily, it's based on a long-running Dungeons & Dragons campaign streamed by Critical Role, so there's plenty of material left to cover. If you're looking for a found family, misfit group of characters embarking on a grand adventure with dragons, magic and action (and don't mind a bit of blood and gore), this is a show for you!


Poker Face [TV Show, Sky]

Admittedly, I am only three episodes into Poker Face, but I feel confident enough to say it will be one of my favourites of the year. From the mind of Rian Johnson- director and writer of Knives Out- Poker Face is a 'case of the week' style murder mystery centered around a woman with an uncanny ability to recognise when people are lying to her. And it's written and filmed with all the funny wit and style of Knives Out and Glass Onion.


Puss in Boots: The Last Wish [Movie]

2018's Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse opened the floodgates for more experimentation and innovation in the way that big budget animated movies are stylised. The sequel to Puss in Boots shifts towards a gorgeous blended 2D/3D style and it's delightful.


Read more of my thoughts about Puss In Boots 2 here.


Shadow and Bone Season 2 [TV Show, Netflix]

Look, Shadow and Bone S2 might not be the most book accurate or consistent season of television... But, I'm here for my Crows. As with the first season, Leigh Bardugo's fantasy books Shadow and Bone are adapted alongside the story of her spin-off novel Six of Crows in a mish-mash of timelines. Even though the Crows' story should really be a show in and of itself, it's hard not to have fun when each and every one of the main six is so brilliantly cast. I'm keeping everything crossed for a greenlight for the spin-off.


Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse [Movie]

The much anticipated sequel to Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse recently released in cinemas and it is even more astonishing than the first. It is the most visually impressive animated movie in the last decade, but also features a fabulous score by Daniel Pemberton, frenetic action sequences and an impactful story that challenges protagonists Miles Morales and Gwen Stacy about what it means to be a hero. This is a film that needs to be seen on the big screen, and then rewatched over and over afterwards to pick out its numerous details. Absolutely incredible.


Star Wars: Visions [TV Show, Disney+]

More gorgeous animation this year comes in the form of Star Wars: Visions, the series of short-form tales made by animation studios from around the world. It's the most boldly creative and ambitious storytelling in the franchise aside from perhaps last year's Andor. Season 2 released this year, and has a few truly spectacular visual styles and memorable stories. A particular highlight is the episode 'Screecher's Reach' by Cartoon Saloon (Song of the Sea, Wolfwalkers), which is perhaps one of the most melancholic stories in Star Wars history.


Succession S4 [TV Show, HBO]

What can be said about the final season of Succession except that it if it is to be said, so it be... so it is. In all seriousness, Succession S4 is a masterclass in storytelling and solidified the show as one of the best TV shows ever made. It's as funny as it is tragic, with biting dialogue and career defining performances by the central cast. I am devastated that we won't get more but also thrilled that they stuck the landing; Season 4 was incredibly unpredictable and emotional, and highlights the tragedy and absurdity of the Roy children like never before.


Taskmaster S15 [TV Show, Channel 4]

This season of Taskmaster might be my favourite ever. The cast had the perfect balance of personalities, from Kiell's cheekiness, Frankie's dark humour, Ivo's neurotic wit, Jenny's flamboyant chaos and Mae's amiable ingenuity. I can see this being the season that I go back to rewatch when I want to watch something funny and easy.


Other things I have been enjoying!


Ghost of Tsushima [Video Game]

I had been waiting to play Ghost of Tsushima for quite some time (mostly to avoid spending £50 on it) and I can safely say it lives up to the hype! With a fluid, cinematic combat system and an absolutely gorgeous visual aesthetic, this is an open-world game that I have spent hours upon hours in, engaging in tense duels, following cute foxes, and experiencing the genuinely interesting story that explores the cost of war, honour and morality. I'm currently finishing up some of the side quests before moving into the final leg of the main campaign. It's also got a spectacular photo mode - the image above is just one of the many, many captures I have in this game.


Gris [Video Game]

From a colossal AAA open-world game to a short indie from a Spanish developer. Gris is one of the most beautiful video games ever made. An exploration of grief but also a puzzle-platformer, the game veers away from frustration or danger and instead focuses on an almost meditative vibe where you restore colour to a previously grey world. The watercolour aesthetic and zen soundtrack is beautiful.


Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson [Book]

You know when you find something a little late and then suddenly it's like a whole world has opened up, and you know you've found a new obsession? Yeah, I just read my very first Brandon Sanderson book and I doubt it will be my last. Mistborn is one of the very best fantasy books I have ever read, from its complex magical system, impressive action sequences and slowly building narrative. I am planning to check out the next two in the trilogy as soon as possible!


Project Hail Mary by Andy Weir [Book]

The Martian is one of my favourite sci-fi books and movies, and author Andy Weir doesn't disappoint with Project Hail Mary. It bears some similarities to The Martian - a funny yet smart scientist trying to survive alone in space - but also moves in a direction that I hadn't expected at all before going in. I can't wait to see the film adaptation of this one.


Stardew Valley [Video Game]

Ah, my faithful companion and go-to cosy game. I'd taken a break from it after playing it a lot last year (it was my number one game in terms of pure hours), but recently dove back into it and completed the community center! When life gets too stressful, at least my trusty farm will always be there to make me feel better.

 

Thanks for reading this list of my mid-year favourites! I'm really looking forward to the rest of the year, especially Mission Impossible: Dead Reckoning, Barbie, Oppenheimer, Dune: Part 2 and Asteroid City. That's not to mention the video games I still need to catch up with - God of War: Ragnarok, Star Wars: Jedi Survivor and Hogwarts Legaacy.



17 views0 comments
bottom of page