top of page

The Best Quotes from V for Vendetta

On this night, the 5th of November, I revisit V for Vendetta- the movie based on the graphic novel that becomes more and more relevant as our world gets crazier and crazier. Set in a dystopian version of England, a lone vigilante terrost/freedom fighter called V (Hugo Weaving) must fight the oppressive fascist government that controls society with the help of a young woman called Evey (Natalie Portman). I know of no reason why this film should ever be forgot so without further ado, here are the best quotes from the movie.

 

The first of many scarily relevant quotes:

"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people"

Can someone translate this for me?:

"Voila! In view humble vaudevillian veteran, cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of fate. This visage, no mere veneer of vanity, is a vestige of the “vox populi” now vacant, vanished. However, this valorous visitation of a bygone vexation stands vivified, and has vowed to vanquish these venal and virulent vermin, van guarding vice and vouchsafing the violently vicious and voracious violation of volition. The only verdict is vengeance; a vendetta, held as a votive not in vain, for the value and veracity of such shall one day vindicate the vigilant and the virtuous. Verily this vichyssoise of verbiage veers most verbose, so let me simply add that it’s my very good honour to meet you and you may call me V"

Why would you say something so controversial and yet so brave:

"A building is a symbol, as is the act of destroying it. Symbols are given power by people. Alone, a symbol is meaningless, but with enough people, blowing up a building can change the world."

Politicians, covering up the truth? Surely not!

"My father was a writer. You would've liked him. He used to say that artists use lies to tell the truth, while politicians use them to cover the truth up."

This is the one day you can use this quote in a somewhat relevant way so own it:

"Remember, remember the Fifth of November, the Gunpowder Treason and Plot. I know of no reason why the Gunpowder Treason should ever be forgot."

Agent Smith and Padme having a heartfelt moment:

"But I don't want you to die

-That's the most beautiful thing you could have ever given me."

Someone please tell me this when I stay up at night thinking of an awkward moment from 5 years ago:

"The past can't hurt you anymore, unless you let it"

This is a long one, but take the time to read every sentence because it is terrifyingly relevant to the state of the world today:

"There are of course those who do not want us to speak. I suspect even now, orders are being shouted into telephones, and men with guns will soon be on their way. Why? Because while the truncheon may be used in lieu of conversation, words will always retain their power. Words offer the means to meaning, and for those who will listen, the enunciation of truth. And the truth is, there is something terribly wrong with this country, isn't there? Cruelty and injustice, intolerance and oppression. And where once you had the freedom to object, to think and speak as you saw fit, you now have censors and systems of surveillance coercing your conformity and soliciting your submission. How did this happen? Who's to blame? Well certainly there are those more responsible than others, and they will be held accountable, but again truth be told, if you're looking for the guilty, you need only look into a mirror. I know why you did it. I know you were afraid. Who wouldn't be? War, terror, disease. There were a myriad of problems which conspired to corrupt your reason and rob you of your common sense. Fear got the best of you, and in your panic you turned to the now high chancellor, Adam Sutler. He promised you order, he promised you peace, and all he demanded in return was your silent, obedient consent"

*Korg voice* The revolution has begun!

"A revolution without dancing is a revolution not worth having"

Wait, that's a mask? I thought that was his real face:

"You wear a mask for so long, you forget who you were beneath it"

Tattoo ideas, anyone?

"Ideas are bulletproof"

One of the most beautiful scenes I've seen:

"It seems strange that my life should end in such a terrible place, but for three years, I had roses, and apologized to no one. I shall die here. Every inch of me shall perish. Every inch, but one. An Inch, it is small and it is fragile, but it is the only thing the world worth having. We must never lose it or give it away. We must never let them take it from us. I hope that whoever you are, you escape this place. I hope that the world turns and that things get better. But what I hope most of all is that you understand what I mean when I tell you that even though I do not know you, and even though I may never meet you, laugh with you, cry with you, or kiss you. I love you. With all my heart, I love you"

I hate/love/hate/love/hate V:

"They took your parents from you. They took your brother from you. They put you in a cell and took everything they could take except your life. And you believed that was all there was, didn't you? The only thing you had left was your life, but it wasn't, was it? You found something else. In that cell you found something that mattered more to you than life."

Just like this blog post being released on 5th November is no coincidence:

"There are no coincidences, only the illusion of coincidence"

Cue existential crisis:

"Is that what you really think, or what they would want you to think?"

The last lines:

"No one will ever forget that night and what it meant for this country. But I will never forget the man and what he meant to me"

 

Thanks for reading this article- if you haven't watched V for Vendetta, today is the perfect day to do so. Happy Bonfire Night!

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page